Board of Directors

President, Donna Hejtmanek

Donna Hejtmanek retired after 41 years of teaching special education and serving as a reading specialist/ interventionist. She has served as president of the Literacy Task Force of Northern Wisconsin, was appointed by Gov. Scott Walker in 2014 to Wisconsin’s Read to Lead Literacy Council and served on The Legislative Council Study Committee on the Identification and Management of Dyslexia in 2018. This resulted in Wisconsin’s first dyslexia bill, Act 86, signed into legislation in 2019. Hejtmanek was awarded the Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowship Award in 2016. She currently serves as legislative chair for the International Dyslexia Association Wisconsin branch. Now, in her third year of retirement, she spends her days creating professional development opportunities for teachers and administers on her Facebook group, Science of Reading—What I Should Have Learned in College.

Past President, Peggy Steber

Peggy is a retired school counselor after twenty-eight years at MHLT Elementary School, Minocqua. Previously, she taught third, fourth, and fifth grades in West Allis and Menomonie, Wisconsin. Peggy taught Title I reading for six years in corrections at Lincoln Hills School in Irma, Wisconsin. She completed her Orton Gillingham training in Duluth, Minnesota in 1977 and again at Nicolet College in 2005. She received a BS in Elementary Ed from University of Minnesota-Duluth, and an MS in School Counseling from UW-Stout. Peggy administered GED and HSED testing for Nicolet College part time for two years. (H) 715-277-2019 ; (C) 715-367-2090 ; email:

Treasurer, Connie Hicks

Connie is the Applied Technology instructor at Gogebic Community College where she teaches developmental English and math. Connie is also the lead CDL instructor. She has a degree in Technical Accounting from Nicolet; a BS in Natural Science from Northland College, and Masters of Science and Mathematics with computer emphasis from the University of Wisconsin, River Falls. Connie completed both the beginning and advanced level literacy trainings in 2007. (W) 906-932-4231; (H) 715-762-3574; email (school year only):

Secretary, Jeanne Schopf

I have been a public school educator for 32 years having taught third, fifth, sixth and seventh grades with a focus in literacy. I earned a Masters of Reading degree from UW-Oshkosh, a National Board Certification in Early Adolescence English, and a CERI Structured Literacy Dyslexia Interventionist certification. I am a mom of a child with dyslexia, and I’m passionate about spreading the Science of Reading throughout the Badger State. Currently, I am Reading Specialist/interventionist/literacy coach at TJ Walker Middle School in the Sturgeon Bay School District. I am working with Carrol College as a Dyslexia Practicum Supervisor this fall, as well as, facilitating a Reading Teacher’s Top Tools Wisconsin cohort in 2021-2022. Besides my CERI certification, I have been trained in IMSE Orton-Gillingham, Wilson Reading Systems, and the Sonday System.

Board Member, Holly Dionne

Holly is retired from the Verona Area Public Schools where she served 22 years as a high school English teacher, resource and testing coordinator, and reading specialist. She worked extensively with curriculum development and innovative programming for striving readers, grades 9-12. Disciplinary literacy and text-based comprehension strategies continue to be key areas of interest for her. Holly holds BS and MA degrees from UW-Stevens Point and completed her reading teacher and specialist training through Viterbo University. She completed the beginning level literacy training in 2014. Currently, Holly teaches ACT prep and tutors ACT test takers. (H) 715-356-2863 or

Board Member, Jan Evens

Jan is a retired teacher of students with learning disabilities and a member of the Wisconsin Branch of The International Dyslexia Association for many years. She has tutored students and trained in Orton Gillingham, Project Read, Lindamood Bell, and Wilson overview. Jan has two years of service as a master teacher for the Literacy Task Force. 715-385-2318 (summer); 608-868-3695 (winter);

Board Member, Bob Steber

Bob is a retired faculty member and case manager for Nicolet Area Technical College’s Disability Student Services. Bob has worked as a transition specialist for high school students with disabilities for over twenty-four years. He is a founding member of the Literacy Task Force. (H)715-277-2019

Auxiliary Board Members

Sara Adamovich. Special Education teacher and Dyslexia Therapist, serving Eagle River Elementary. Communications specialist for the Task Force's newsletter and Facebook and Twitter accounts.

Karen Demers. Karen graduated from UW-Madison with a BS in Elementary Education and taught middle school reading, language arts, and social studies before moving to the Northwoods. More recently she has taught general and physical sciences and anatomy, grammar, and writing in area schools. She has also done private tutoring. Karen was a participant in the 2015 training course and currently works part-time in the Lac du Flambeau school district.

Bonnie Margitan. Bonnie is a retired elementary teacher from MHLT Ele-mentary School in Minocqua. She completed the beginning level literacy training in 2005, the advanced level training in 2007, and tutors students in the Minocqua area. In April 2006 Bonnie was hired under grant monies to assist with the coordination of the task force, with a primary focus on training/services for adults.

Community-Based Organization Representatives

Lisa Young. Representative from Nicolet Area Technical College (NATC).

Chris Ebert. Representative from American Association of University Women (AAUW).

Lynn Feldman. Representative from UW-Extension.